Wednesday, 14 November 2018

College of Health Sciences




The Department of Medicine was established under the Provostship of Late Professor O. A. Adebo. The pioneer Head of Department was Professor Ayo Arije who was a Visiting Professor of Medicine on Sabbatical leave from College of Medicine, University of Ibadan. He was appointed on the 28th of May 2012, at a time when the College was preparing for an accreditation exercise conducted by the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria. Other Academic members of Staff of the Department were Prof. O. O. Bademosi and later, Prof. B. J. Bojuwoye, both retired Professors of Medicine on contract appointment with the University.

Dr. O. O. Ogunwobi, a Lecturer I/Consultant Psychiatrist joined the Department October 2013.

Prof. Ayo Arije has since completed his extended Sabbatical leave and returned to his base at the University of Ibadan effective from 30th of September, 2013. He was succeeded by Prof. B. J. Bojuwoye in an acting capacity as Head of Department until his substantive appointment as Head of Department of Medicine from April 2014. His appointment as HOD was renewed effective from the 1st of August, 2014.

The Department currently has as its Associate Lecturers, Prof. Ayo Arije and Dr. (Mrs.) A. Adeniran who doubles as HOD Family Medicine Department of the University.


The Department as an integral part of the College of Health Sciences, for now, runs only the M.B.B.S. Programme which is an integrated programme along with other Departments of the College.


The Department receives 400 level Medical Students, who have just completed their First Professional or Part I M.B.B.S. Examination and at the commencement of their Clinical Programme. They rotate through the Department during four phases referred to as postings i.e.

Phase I -Introduction to Clinical Clerkship – a 2-week intensive course.

Phase II -Junior Medicine Posting (MI) lasting 8 weeks and comprising didactic lectures, tutorials, seminars, clinical work in the clinics and bedside teaching of clinical skills.

Phase III -Intermediate Medicine (M2) Posting lasting 8 weeks and comprising didactic lectures, clinical activities and side laboratory testing.

Phase IV -Senior Medicine Posting (M3 Posting) as the final phase of their apprenticeship. In addition, courses in Mental Health (Psychiatry) including 8 weeks lectures and clinical activities are housed in the Department of Medicine. A pass overall in Medicine and a Pass in Clinical Examination are pre-requisites for graduation.


Lecturers of the Department double as Honorary Consultant Physicians/Psychiatrist to the Bowen University Teaching Hospital where they run Consultant Outpatient clinics, conduct ward rounds and research activities. In the course of their carrying out these duties, they impart clinical, investigative and therapeutic skills to Clinical Students of the University. They also nurture the students and teach them about ethical principles and proper professional practice as well the need to show empathy to patients.