Wednesday, 14 November 2018

Faculty of Science & Science Education

The Faculty of Science and Science Education numbered among the pioneer Faculties in Bowen University, alongside the Faculties of Agriculture and Social and Management Sciences. Right from inception, part of the aspirations of the Proprietors of the institution had been the establishment of a science-based faculty that would adhere strictly to the global core values of uplifting humanity through the provision of sound scientific teaching, meaningful and result-oriented researches, as well as the development of industry-friendly innovations that would broaden the range of human choices.

At inception in 2002, the Faculty started with five departments and ten degree awarding programmes. Today, there are six departments occasioned by the creation of the Department of Biochemistry in 2010 out of the old Chemistry and Industrial Chemistry Department.
These departments/programmes include:
a. Department of Biochemistry: Only Biochemistry Programme

b. Department of Biological Sciences: Three Degree Programmes:
i. Microbiology
ii. Plant Biology
iii. Zoology

c. Department of Chemistry and Industrial Chemistry: Two Degree Programmes:
i. Chemistry
ii. Industrial Chemistry

d. Department of Computer Science and Information Technology: Two Degree Programmes, but only Computer Science is currently being offered.

e. Department of Mathematics and Statistics: Two Degree Programmes:
i. Mathematics
ii. Statistics

f. Department of Physics and Solar Energy: Only Physics and Solar Energy Programme.

The Faculty staff membership is composed of erudite, distinguished and visionary scholars both in the Professorial and Readership cadres as well as young, talented and aspiring intellectuals in the lower cadres who have imbibed the University’s philosophy of “Excellence and Godliness”.
The current Dean of the Faculty is Professor S. A. Ilori (a Professor of Mathematics), while the Faculty Officer is Mr. Eyitayo .O. Ojemola.

In line with the philosophical inclination of the founding fathers of the institution, the Faculty of Science and Science Education has identified, as its philosophical principle, the evolvement of a centre of learning of distinction that will annex all potentials and resources for the promotion of teaching, research and innovations that will engender qualitative products (graduates) and a better society.

a. UTME (100 LEVEL)
i. Each department/programme in the Faculty has its own admission requirements. However, candidates seeking admission into any programme in the Faculty of Science and Science Education must possess a minimum of five credits at SSCE, GCE NECO NABTEB or approved equivalent in at least five subjects which must include English Language and Mathematics in addition to specific departmental requirements.
ii. The five credits should be obtained at not more than two sittings.
iii. All applicants are required to sit for the Unified Tertiary Matriculations Examinations (UTME).

b. Direct Entry (200 level)
As specified by each department in its admission policy.

The Faculty’s success story far outstrips what could be captured in words. However, it suffices to say that it has grown from a small, struggling unit to a formidable academic centre where excellence, commitment to research of distinction and Godly values is the watchword. The full accreditation of all the academic programmes being run by the Faculty is a confirmation of its prodigious accomplishment. Others include:
i. Testimonies from industrial and business operators across the country and beyond about the quality, integrity and astounding level of professionalism being displayed by graduates of the Faculty.
ii. Development of commercializable projects by some Departments in the Faculty.
iii. Production of top notch graduates that could hold their own against their counterparts all over the world.
iv. Admission of Bowen University graduates for higher degrees by first rate Universities within and outside the country.
v. Well equipped and research-friendly laboratories.

The Faculty is expecting the National Universities Commission’s accreditation teams for the re-accreditation of some of its programmes.