Bowen University

Excellence and godliness

The University administration which had been directly under the Nigerian Baptist Convention was transferred to Iwo Campus for the take-off of the various arms of Administrative Department. One of these Departments is the Bursary Department.

This Department commenced operations in the year 2002 in the former Agbebi Hall located at the right side on entering the campus through the existing main gate of the University. In 2008, due to the rate of expansion of the University and increase in the number of Staff members, an extension to the Bursary Offices was built.

These renovations and expansion in the Department have tremendously made for improved environment for the workforce in carrying out activities year in year out.

Main Bursary Department

                 Extension Building


The Department was structured at inception to ensure effective coordination of essential financial functions required by the University for running the academic programmes. The offices and units are:

Click Here For The Organogram and Staff Update/Profile

- Bursar’s Office

- Bursar’s Secretary’s Office

- Treasury Unit covering payments, collection,

- students’ record, and reconciliation functions.

- Salary & Wages Unit

- Budget & Expenditure Control/Purchasing

- Purchasing & Store Unit

- Final Account Unit 



The Department started in 2002 under the leadership of the Bursar, in person of Elder G. B. A. Adelabu, a Chartered Accountant along with nine (9) other Staff members. Among these are the four core Staff having Higher Degree/Diploma Qualifications in Accountancy, Banking & Finance with good track record of relevant work experiences at senior and middle management levels.

Name                           Rank

Elder G. B. A. Adelabu     Bursar

Mrs. E. O. Adeleke          Accountant I

Mr. S. A. Adeoye           Accountant II

Mr. J. B. Oludiya            Accountant II

Mr. A. Fabowale            Accountant II

Mr. T. A. Adewuyi          Executive Officer 

Mr. A. Anisere               Executive Officer 

Mrs. A. A. Magbagbeola  Executive Officer 

Mrs. M. O. Adeleye        Secretary 

Mr. S. O. Ishola            Clerical Officer

To God be the Glory, in January 2009 one of these Staff in person of Mrs. E. O. Adeleke was appointed as the Bursar, having taken over the responsibility of the office in February 2004 when the former Pioneer Bursar left the service of the University. It is however on record that the pioneer Staff as few as they were demonstrated great commitment and sacrifice in energy and time to carry out the responsibility of laying a solid foundation for the establishment of the Department. 

Copyright © 2017.
Bowen University Iwo, Osun State. All Rights Reserved.