Bowen University

Excellence and godliness


The Faculty of Humanities was approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC) to undertake normal academic activities in 2011 of full-time mode for eight undergraduate programmes. The Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies is based in this Faculty.

The department started with three lecturers in September 2012. Currently, a total number ofsix full-time lecturers and two associate lecturers teach in the department. The full-time lecturers include a professor, twosenior Lecturer, oneLecturer I and two lecturer II. The associate lecturers comprise of a professor and asenior lecturer.

Apart from students on direct enrollment in the programmes of the Department, the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies also manages the teaching of Philosophy courses in the Faculty of Law. Significant number of students in other departments of the Faculty of Humanities takes electives in the department.



The Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies was conceived as a unit of the Faculty of Humanities to address, through teaching and research, the realities that impinge on human beings through their interaction with the moral, ethical and religious universe in which they live. Through the two disciplines of philosophy and religious studies, the department aims to equip students with the necessary tools to engage these realities in critical thinking, using a multidisciplinary approach to address the various questions and dilemma inherent in the interaction.


The objectives of the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies are:

to develop in students the awareness of the many questions that arise from human interaction with the moral, religious, and cultural environments in which they function;
to develop in them critical and analytical skills that will enable them to understand these questions and appreciate their implications for the advance or recession of society;
To develop in them a broad perspective on the many possibilities that the human cultural environment may shed on the questions of human existence in a pluralistic world.



1. Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examinations (UTME).

2. Direct Entry (DE).


All applicants are required to sit for the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examinations (UTME).
All applicants are to collect Bowen University Form
All applicants are required to have credits at SSCE, GCE, NECO, NABTEB or approved equivalent in at least 5 subjects which must include English Language and any four other subjects as may be specified by each Faculty.
The five Credits should be obtained in not more than two sittings.

All applicants will be required to go through Bowen University’s Screening Exercise.

Department Philosophy and Religious Studies

Degree Programme Options

B.A. Religious Studies
B.A. Philosophy

Admission Requirements

(a) O’ Level Subjects

The five O’ Level credits must include English Language and three other relevant Arts/Social Science subjects.

(b) UTME Subjects

English Language, Christian Religious Studies and two other subjects.

(c) Direct Entry

(i) At least two Advanced Level passes or equivalents, including Christian

Religious Knowledge.

(ii) IJMB/JUPEB International Baccalaureate Certificate at acceptable grade


(iii) Diploma in any Arts/Social Science courses from an accredited institution.

(iv) In addition, candidates must fulfil the O’ Level requirements stated above.

Copyright © 2017.
Bowen University Iwo, Osun State. All Rights Reserved.